Huge Discounts: 24MX Pop Up Tents

MXoN Picks: Team Belgium

Team Belgium confirmed for RedBud

What better place for Team Belgium to name their Motocross of Nations team than Lommel? The Belgian team manager stood in front of fans and media moments ago and confirmed that Clement Desalle, Jago Geerts and Jeremy Van Horebeek will travel to RedBud in October. Julien Lieber and Kevin Strijbos are reserves.

It is hardly surprising that this team was selected. Clement Desalle runs third in the premier class in the FIM Motocross World Championship currently and won a Grand Prix in May, so was always going to be on the team, and Jeremy Van Horebeek is the next best-placed MXGP rider from Belgium. Van Horebeek runs ninth in the points, but could take eighth this weekend, and has started to return to form in recent weeks. Fifth overall was the position that he acquired at the previous Grand Prix. Jago Geerts may be an unknown quantity to some, but finished on the MX2 podium for the first time at the Grand Prix of Latvia in what is his rookie term as a professional. All three Belgian riders are supported by factory teams.

Belgium finished fourth at Matterley Basin last year, twenty-one points from the podium, with Jeremy Van Horebeek, Brent Van Doninck and Kevin Strijbos on the team. It is worth noting that Clement Desalle, who has arguably been the strongest rider from Belgium for almost ten years now, has not contested the Motocross of Nations since 2013. That was also the last time that Team Belgium won the event.

Words: Lewis Phillips | Lead Image: Yamaha Racing

We use cookies! By browsing this site, you agree to our use of cookies.
More info
Fantasy MX Manager
Play & Win Prizes!